History

Inspired by the saying "A city without art is a city without soul" in the fall of 2000, several artists graduating from the Faculty of Fine Arts at Concordia University and at the Saidye Bronfman Art Center presented the town with a plan to form an artistic group in Town of Mount Royal. At the same time, students of Jocelyne Lambert-Moulin's watercolor lessons at the Town recreation center considered a similar project. After several meetings between the two groups, TRAM became a reality and provided an avenue whereby artists could meet to discuss their art, exhibit and sell their works.

The founding members of TRAM are, from the first group: Nicole Leblanc-Touchette, Claudette Lefrançois, Andrée Lecoq, Marie Saheb and Claude Tessier and from the second: Yolande Audet, Nicole Balcer, Solange Béliveau, Edith Galien, Jocelyne Lambert-Moulin, Jeannette Mathieu and Marie-Louise Simon.


Incorporated as a non - profit organization, the association that has been renamed ArtTram has as its mission to promote art and a dynamic artistic life in the town of Mount Royal.

 

Following a first “open door” at the Town Recreation Center, more than fifty artists responded to the call and expressed their enthusiasm. Together, they organized activities: workshops, live model demonstrations, painting in the park excursions, conferences, meetings, TRAM Sundays as well as exhibitions in the various businesses located in the Town.

ArtTram's commitment to the community has been manifested in various ways over the years, including auctions, participation by students from neighbourhood schools as well as by residents of the Vigi Center in the annual Salon, group poetry evenings, Cultural Days, the Town's annual multicultural fairs, conferences, concerts, folk dances, setting up of DIY workshops for young people, heritage walks, fundraising for the Mount Royal Volunteer Center and the Terry Fox Walk through the sale of small paintings, donations to Multicaf, and more.   
ArtTram also encourages the purchase and display of public art in Mount Royal.

The first example of this was the creation of a recognition award by ArtTram to the Royal Bank in 2001 for the restoration of its building.

 

 

In 2003, the ArtTram prize was born, awarded to a resident or a corporation of the town of Mount Royal who had made an exceptional contribution to art in our community.

Recipients of the ArtTram prize included the Mount Royal Police Station, Iris eyewear, the Annunciation Church, the United Church of Mount Royal and Bistro Dupond and Dupont..

Annual Art Fair - From its inception, the annual ArtTram Art Fair showcased the work of over forty artists over a three day period. Over the years other activities were incorporated into the program including live music presented by young musicians from Pierre Laporte High School, painting demos,  displays of pigments used to create various paint colours, and more.

Now an annual  tradition, the ArtTram Art Salon is one of the most important and popular cultural events in the town of Mount Royal.

2020 Created by ArtTram 

40 Roosevelt, Town of Mount-Royal, Qc H3R 1Z4

  • Facebook
  • arttram.vmr

Historique

Inspiré par le dicton «Une ville sans art est une ville sans âme» à l'automne 2000, plusieurs artistes diplômés de la Faculté des beaux-arts de l'Université Concordia et du Centre d'art Saidye Bronfman ont présenté à la ville un projet en vue de former un regroupement artistique  à ville Mont-Royal. À la même période, les élèves des cours d'aquarelle de Jocelyne Lambert-Moulin au centre de loisirs de la Ville envisagent un projet similaire. Après plusieurs rencontres entre les deux groupes, TRAM est devenu une réalité et a fourni une avenue permettant aux artistes de se rencontrer pour discuter de leur art, exposer et vendre leurs œuvres.

 

Les membres fondateurs du TRAM sont, du premier groupe: Nicole Leblanc-Touchette, Claudette Lefrançois, Andrée Lecoq, Marie Saheb et Claude Tessier et du second groupe: Yolande Audet, Nicole Balcer, Solange Béliveau, Edith Galien, Jocelyne Lambert-Moulin, Jeannette Mathieu et Marie-Louise Simon.

 

Incorporée à titre d 'organisme à but non lucratif, l' association rebaptisée ArtTram a pour mission de  promouvoir les artistes de ville Mont-Royal et d’insuffler à ville Mont-Royal une vie artistique dynamique.

 

Suite  à une première « porte ouverte » au Centre des loisirs de la ville, plus de cinquante artistes ont répondu à l’appel et ont exprimé leur enthousiasme. Ensemble, ils ont organisé des activités: ateliers, démonstrations de modèles vivants, excursions peinture dans le parc, conférences, rencontres, les dimanches d'ArtTram ainsi que des expositions dans les différents commerces de ville Mont-Royal.

L’engagement d'ArtTram envers la communauté s'est manifesté  de diverses manières au fil des ans, notamment des ventes aux enchères, la  participation des élèves des écoles du quartier ainsi que des résidents du Centre Vigi au Salon d’art annuel, aux soirées de poésie de groupe, aux journées culturelles, aux foires multiculturelles annuelles de la ville, , aux conférences, concerts, danses folkloriques, mises en place d’ateliers de bricolage pour les jeunes, promenades patrimoniales, collectes de fonds pour le Centre de l'action bénévole de Mont-Royal et la Marche Terry Fox par la vente de petits tableaux, des dons à Multicaf, etc.​ 

ArtTram encourage également l'achat et l'exposition d'art public à ville Mont-royal.

 

Le premier exemple en est la création et l'attribution d’un prix de reconnaissance à la Banque Royale en 2001 pour la restauration de son édifice.

 

 

En 2003 le prix ArtTram est né, décerné à un résident ou à une corporation de ville Mont-Royal qui avait apporté une contribution exceptionnelle à l’art dans notre communauté. 

Les récipiendaires du prix ArtTram comprenaient le poste de police de ville Mont-Royal, Lunetterie Iris, l’Église de l' Annonciation, l'Église Unie de ville Mont-Royal et le Bistro Dupond et Dupont.

Salon d’art annuel - Dès sa création, le Salon d’Art annuel d'ArtTram a présenté le travail de plus de quarante artistes sur une période de trois jours. Au fil des ans, d'autres activités ont été intégrées au programme, notamment de la musique live présentée par de jeunes musiciens de l’école secondaire Pierre Laporte, des démonstrations de peinture, des expositions de pigments utilisés pour créer diverses couleurs de peinture, etc.

Désormais une tradition annuelle, le Salon d'Art d'ArtTram est l'un des événements culturels les plus importants et les plus populaires de ville Mont-Royal.

2020 Créé par ArtTram 

40 rue Roosevelt, Ville de Mont-Royal, Qc H3R 1Z4

  • Facebook
  • arttram.vmr